i had a black dog, his name was depression

latest entry

older entries

contact me

diaryland

Sunday, 18 October 2020
Mornings in the lonesome october

“I'm so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers.”
― L. M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables

I was greeted by a beautiful morning today. Bright, clear, crisp, still weather. A perfect autumnal morning. October is, by far, my most favourite month of the year. I got up early and walked down to the bakery with my neighbour to pick up a fresh sesame seed bloomer loaf, then we went to her allotment to grab a cabbage for dinner tonight, swung by the newsagents on the return trip to pick up a Sunday Telegraph, then headed back to my apartment to sit in the quiet of the morning with a cup of tea and read the paper. Bliss.

Is this a sign of me advancing in years? I can only imagine that my eight year old self would be horrified to hear me proclaiming the above as a perfect way to spend a Sunday morning.

I feels quite odd writing in this little box again, after so long. I want to commit to writing in here as often as I can. I've really missed it. I much prefer this era of Diaryland, where it seems much quieter. The writers populating the 'recently updated' lists have all committed to the upkeep of their diaries over many years. That is incredible and very inspiring.

previous / next

dog