i had a black dog, his name was depression

latest entry

older entries

contact me

diaryland

Wednesday, 21 October 2020
spoils from the panny d

“These so-called bleak times are necessary to go through in order to get to a much, much better place.”
― David Lynch

I got paid today and immediately I paid down my credit card before I even had the chance to contemplate spending anything. October is going to be a tough month for me, and a big stretch financially, where I'll really be making my money last longer.

I've committed to no unnecessary spending or impulse buys - instead, I am adding them to my Amazon basket, so I can see exactly how much I would have spent in the month, had I gone through with the purchase. I'll report back next month with what that figure looks like.

I have a good stock of bathroom toiletries, accumulated off the back of the panny d (what I call the pandemic, so it doesn't sound so much like what you'd hear during the end times), so I don't have to buy anything in that regard. I am not going to have any takeaways (which will also benefit my waistline I'm sure), and I have a stock of frozen meals and a drum of Huel meal substitute powder to work through, so I don't believe I need to buy much food wise, other than the usual fruit and vegetables.

Where it's practical to, I will walk into town to conserve petrol, and I certainly won't be buying anything like new clothes or records or films etc.

I think if I can make it through this month on a shoe string budget, then I can do it more regularly. I am not being owned by this debt anymore and I will do everything I can to try to clear it down.

previous / next

dog